Metalshop Rising

In 2006, I started learning about metalwork and experimeting with welding, bending, cutting, grinding and related tasks. I've built steel benches, brackets, custom machine parts and more. 

metalwork-shop

I am bender, insert girder
11/1/2006

Seeing as how this is the only real project I'm working on at the moment it made sense to formally launch it as such within these walls. So here ya have it!

I've been learning about working with metal for a couple years now. It's been my dream for a while to have equipment like a welder and metal sawing tools and so when I came into a bit of cash in August I bought a decent welder and have just recently acquired a metal bandsaw with a dry-cut metal circular saw on the way.

Today, I needed to bend 3/8" steel for some brackets I was making for a clients tradeshow booth. After much humming and hawing I went to midland tools with the intent to spend $100+ for the compact bender there. As fate would have it, my bank account was a few dollars shy of the total, and I came home empty handed. This evening I designed and built my own compact bender with steel from my inventory. It's not as versatile as the one at the store but it served my purpose and worked spendidly to make pretzels out of thick steel round stock.

I also finished my new welding bench recently. It weighs in excess of 100 lbs. and gives me 12 sq. ft. of working space. It's perfect.

metalwork-shop

Storage Racking Installed
11/27/2006

The shop's looking better all the time. Recently I finished fabricating the wall brackets, painted them and installed them on the wall. It's so nice having sturdy storage for all my metal pieces, tools, etc.

Eventually I'd like to have all of my tools in a rolling cabinet but the bottom shelf is for their use until that point. I imagine in no time that I'll be wanting to have all of the shelves for metal storage though.

metalwork-shop

Sheet Metal Bending Brake
11/29/2006